Welcome to The Hollow Tree at

Old Oak

The Hollow Tree on Old Oak was first built in 1901 and used as the farm manager’s residence for the Bloemhof Farm Estate. It was then used as the municipal manager’s residence until the early 1980s, when De Tijerkombuis (related to the Volkskombuis in Stellenbosch) was created in the current restaurant area. The bar area was added in 1994. The building was declared a national monument in the 1980s and still boasts many of the original fixtures and fittings, including the floor, window frames and skirting boards. After further renovations in 2011, the Hollow Tree at Old Oak is now one of the most popular taverns and restaurants in the Northern Suburbs. Featuring several smoking and non-smoking areas, a stunning beer garden (half under canvas) and a children’s play area, this is the ideal setting to enjoy a good meal, good drinks and good company for all ages.